Nelly Latypova
2 min readAug 28, 2016

Saint-Nazaire. A place of … hairdressing saloons!

It is a French port in north-western part of Bretagne, located right on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean, 40-min ride from Nantes by TGV.

Saint-Nazaire is not quite the right place for beach holidays, though there are some cool beaches, but you need to take a ride for sure to get there. Nevertheless, Saint-Nazaire appealed to me.

First of all, I finally saw Bretagne! The homeland of magnificent nature, seaside, famous crêpes, and chapeaux bigoudins!

Flag of Brittany

It is precious to have a morning or night walk along the seaside, enjoy the ocean wind floating, and daydream on a beach. In August, the water is already quite cold, so I didn’t swim. Along the shore of Saint-Nazaire, there are around 20 beaches with certain names.

Fisheries

Apart for the ocean, the town is full of plants and flowers, there many parks and gardens. For example, I stayed next to a magnificent garden with such flowers:

While exploring the town by bike, I have come across some geese and ducks in a park:

The thing that stroke me after some days in Saint-Nazaire is that there are more hairdressing saloons than boulangeries! I have noticed them almost at every corner! I am still astonished;)

Special credit should go to artisanal boulangeries that made me addicted to their delicious crouassanses and baguettes. I bought them every day and enjoyed my breakfast more then ever!